Insomnia Be

INSOMNIA biography

 

Insomnia was formed in 1996 in Liège by the Konikiewicz brothers, Ludo (guitar) and Nikko (drums). Their goal: a band in tune with the times, influenced by Pantera, Slayer, Grip Inc. and others, which will deliver square, powerful and efficient metal. Fred JST (vocals) and Roman Delante (bass) join the group to complete the quartet.

 

The group took to many stages in Wallonia and Brussels in the months that followed.

 

Insomnia was spotted by Phil Renote, sound engineer at the Haut-Regard studio who had worked with André Gielen (Channel Zero, Cryme, Massif, …) He offered his help for the recording of the first album. For several months, the group composed new titles while keeping the same line of conduct. Unfortunately, a few weeks before entering the studio, the group broke up.

 

At the end of 2015, Ludo got back in touch with the members of the group and proposed the reformation for a single date on the occasion of his 40 years as well as the 20 years of the group. For ten months, the musicians get back to work to offer an exclusive show for December 17, 2016.

 

The concert is a huge success. Given the enthusiasm of the people present and the pleasure of going back together on stage, Insomnia decides not to stop there. The band performed for a few dates in 2017, including the first part of the Brazilian band Nervosa in Liège (sold-out). But the main goal for the end of 2017 is the composition and recording of a brand new EP. The style remains resolutely metal, catchy and groovy at the same time.

 

New dates follow and Insomnia will share beautiful stages with, in particular, Komah, Signs of Algorithm, King Satan, Dagoba, Unswabbed, Kee Marcello, Exuviated and Desdemonia.

 

2019, Insomnia wins the semi-final of the Wacken Metal Battle and obtains the audience award in the final. Then comes the victory of the springboards of the Durbuy Rock Festival, which will allow the quartet to step onto the main stage of the famous Belgian festival.

 

September 2020, the line-up changes a bit and integrates its new drummer : Adrien Delgambe (Drakkar). The band are back together again, just recorded and shot their new music video « Regeneration » and are already working hard to be ready for concerts again after Covid.

 

Be ready for FULL POWER!

Insomnia Be

Biographie d’INSOMNIA

 

Insomnia est formé à Liège dans le courant de l’année 1996 par les frères Konikiewicz, Ludo (guitare) et Nikko (batterie). Leur objectif : un groupe dans l’air du temps, influencé par Pantera, Slayer, Grip Inc. et d’autres, qui délivrera un metal carré, puissant et efficace. Fred JST (vocaux) et Roman Delante (basse) intègrent le groupe pour compléter le quatuor.

 

Le groupe foule bon nombre de scènes en Wallonie et à Bruxelles dans les mois qui suivent.

 

Insomnia est repéré par Phil Renote, ingénieur du son au studio Haut-Regard ayant travaillé avec André Gielen (Channel Zero, Cryme, Massif, …) Il propose son aide pour l’enregistrement du premier album. Pendant plusieurs mois, le groupe compose de nouveaux titres en gardant la même ligne de conduite. Malheureusement, quelques semaines avant l’entrée en studio, le groupe se sépare.

 

Fin 2015, Ludo reprend contact avec les membres du groupe et propose la reformation pour une date unique à l’occasion de ses 40 ans ainsi que des 20 ans du groupe. Pendant dix mois, les musiciens se remettent au travail afin de proposer un show exclusif pour le 17 décembre 2016.

 

Le concert est un énorme succès. Vu l’engouement des gens présents et le plaisir de remonter ensemble sur scène, Insomnia décide de ne pas en rester là. Le groupe se produit ainsi pour quelques dates en 2017, dont la première partie du groupe brésilien Nervosa à Liège (sold-out). Mais l’objectif principal pour cette fin d’année 2017 est la composition et l’enregistrement d’un tout nouvel EP. Le style reste résolument metal catchy et groovy à la fois.

 

De nouvelles dates s’enchainent et Insomnia partagera de belles scènes avec, notamment, Komah, Signs of Algorithm, King Satan, Dagoba, Unswabbed, Kee Marcello, Exuviated ou encore Desdemonia et Catalysis.

 

2019, Insomnia gagne une demi-finale du Wacken Metal Battle et obtient le prix du public lors de la finale. S’enchaine la victoire à un des tremplins du Durbuy Rock Festival qui permettra au quatuor de monter sur la grande scène du célèbre festival.

 

Septembre 2020, le line-up change un peu et intègre son nouveau batteur : Adrien Delgambe (Drakkar). Le groupe est à nouveau au complet, vient d’enregistrer et de tourner son nouveau clip « Regeneration » et travaille déjà d’arrache-pied afin d’être à nouveau prêt pour les concerts d’après Covid.

 

Be ready for FULL POWER!